About the student union

Umeå Medical and Health Sciences Student union is a union for you who is studying at the medical faculty at Umeå University. The union was founded in 1988 under the name Corpus, but was renamed to the Umeå Medical Students’ Union in 2004. On the 1st July 2010, the current name “Umeå Medical and Health Sciences Student union” was adopted in connection with the reorganization of the union and the abolition of compulsory membership. However, in casual usage, it is still referred to as the “Medical Student Union”.

Read more in: First aid – Your guide to life as a student in Umeå

Currently, we have about 2700 members from different programs and courses. The majority of the students are degree students and are studying one of the following programs offered by the faculty of medicine at Umeå University:

  • Occupational therapy
  • Biomedicine
  • Biomedical Scientist
  • Public Health program
  • Speech therapy program
  • Medicine
  • Sports Physiology program
  • Radiological nurse program
  • Physiotherapist program
  • Nursing program
  • Dental hygienist program
  • Dentistry program
  • Tooth technician program